World ploughing contest to be held in Kenya.

Canada, Switzerland, Netherlands, Wales, USA, Ireland, France and Finland  are among 20 countries who have confirmed attendance of  the 64th World Ploughing Contest (WPC) set for Ngongongeri Farm in Egerton University in November.

Others are Spain, Denmark, Australia, Macedonia, Norway, Australia, Belgium and New Zealand.

“As at now, we have 250 delegates from the above countries that have confirmed participation. Normally, this comprises two competitors per country, a coach and a judge and supporters from the same country. For example, France has 25 participants,”  said the the Agricultural Society of Kenya (ASK) Chief Executive Officer Batram Muthoka .

The event, which will be happening in Kenya for the second time after two decades -and will be on for 10 days – targets 32 countries by end of next month.

The Kenya Ploughing Organisation (KPO) was established in 1966 under the agricultural society. The main objective of organisation is to organise national ploughing contests in which ploughmen compete in demonstrating their skills in preparation of good seed bed while at the same time, serving as educative fora for farmers.

To win the contest, the ploughmen must make sure that the depth of furrows should be such that the slice is cut completely free from the under-soil surface throughout the whole length of the crown.

He said the furrow slices in the crown should lie close against each other with gaps or openings.

All crown furrows, he said, must also be uniform and level with the rest of seed bed and should conform to the rest of the ploughing.

The ASK official said the finish must be straight and parallel to the crown.

“The last slice should be ploughed in such a way that no loose soil falls into the finish furrow and this last slice must be laid towards the competitor’s crown. The finish should be no deeper than the rest of the ploughing and should not be wider than the normal furrow which the plough leaves,” explained the Agricultural Society of Kenya (ASK) Chief Executive Officer Batram Muthoka .


To date, only South Africa and Kenya participate in this event from Africa.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Subscribe for more news from The Nile Explorer